Not again…

Not AgainIt happened again. I had an incredible day filled with God’s love, the work of the Spirit, and great people. Right in the middle of the day, however, I had one negative encounter. One person said some not-so-nice things. In the grand scheme of things, the day was one of the best in recent memory. But when I went to bed that night, any idea what I thought about? Yep, that one negative event occupied my brain.

Has this happened to you? Why is it that negative events can carry so much more weight than beautiful moments? Maybe I’m alone in this, but I have the sneaking suspicion it’s not “just me.”

In the Lenten season, we go through a process of preparation. We prepare to affirm the gift of baptism, and that involves all sorts of reflection. We ask ourselves how we’re doing with our commitment to God’s purposes. We think about God’s call to each of us in and through baptism: that we follow the example of Jesus, work for justice and peace, and renounce the forces that defy God. Why is it when we reflect, so many of our poor choices and missed opportunities rise to the top? Is that God’s ultimate hope for us, that we realize our brokenness? Is there any purpose that includes grace?

This Sunday we’ll experience the whole of Luke 15 and hear God’s response. How does God respond when we know we’re imperfect? What does God do for/to (gulp!) the “lost?” How can I affirm my baptism when I am so aware of the negative consequences of my decisions?

For all of us who need God’s grace, God’s mercy, God’s unending and perfect love, we CANNOT miss Jesus this week!

Will you join me?

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a comment