Move me, Lord!

Posted on

moveI sit a lot. It’s been made clear how unhealthy – some would say dangerous – a sedentary
lifestyle is. It’s detrimental to our physical and emotional health. I try to move. I stand while talking on the phone, writing sermons, and watching my son’s hockey practices. Still, I’m in one place for extended periods of time. My faith life feels like that sometimes…sedentary. That’s pretty dangerous, too.

Sedentary faith manifests itself in all sorts of ways. My first indication (to which I rarely pay attention) is increased fear: What if I can’t get it all done? What if I don’t measure up? That person didn’t smile very broadly at me, are they mad at me? Is that person who looks really different from me a threat? You can see where this leads. Another indication is fatigue: God, you don’t really want me to love my enemies, do you? That takes so much energy! Perhaps the biggest indicator is inertia: The problems of the world are way too big. What can I do? Sedentary faith manifests itself physically, emotionally, relationally, psychologically, and every other way imaginable.

In the season of Lent, God comes to us with an opportunity to move.

For the next 40 days, we will be “on the road” with Jesus in the book of Luke. In Luke 9, Jesus sets his face to Jerusalem and he doesn’t look back. He calls disciples, he offends with provocative teaching, he casts out demons, he heals, and he loves and forgives to his own destruction. He invites us to join him on this road. He invites us to move with him as he shows us and the world what love looks like: to and through death…to life everlasting.

Will I move?

Will you?

In Christ,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

