What if they run out?

Posted on

long lineI have a distinct memory from kindergarten about selecting my beverage for “milk break.” We had three options: chocolate milk, white milk and orange drink. Everyday my anxiety would build as I waited to see if there was enough chocolate milk and then white milk so I could escape the dreaded orange drink. Many days I was able to enjoy my break, other days I wasn’t so lucky.

In our Gospel reading for Sunday Jesus describes a group of people getting in line to receive God’s grace. As the line develops, Jesus explains that in the kingdom of heaven “the last will be first and the first will be last” (Matthew 20:16). With good reason, this statement can cause a great deal of anxiety about who will get what when it comes to Jesus. Will I be first or last? Put another way, “Will Jesus run out before he gets to me?”

The Gospel makes it clear that with God in Christ there is always abundantly more grace, love and mercy to go around than we can possibly fathom. God’s grace extends beyond our wildest imagination. Even the last in line finally receives the same as the first: the complete, perfect, unconditional love of God. So the next time you’re wondering where you are in Christ’s grace-giving line-up, remember, he never runs out…ever.

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

