God and Flash Sales.

Why do the two little words, “Flash Sale,” have such an impact on me? They’ve been popping up all week on my phone and on my computer. They’re inescapable! Every time I see them, my finger just itches to click on them. What if, in that flash sale, there’s the perfect gift for someone and I could get it for a bargain? I do love bargains. I don’t want to miss out! I wanna know: How much time is left? What’s included in the sale? Do they have free shipping?

Seriously, I’m hopeless.

My complete overreaction to the Flash Sale phenomenon has me thinking – How easy is it for us to picture God as a Flash Sale kind of God? I know it sounds strange, but stay with me. Have you ever thought or been told something like this?

I hope so-and-so confessed everything before they died. If not, they’re in trouble!

         OR

If you died today, would you be saved?

We’re almost through another fall of Bible readings from the Old Testament. And we’ve heard, week after week, that God is faithful. God is present. God is finding a way for God’s people from generation to generation. God is a force for love and life in God’s Creation day after day after day. The prophet Ezekiel comes at us with this affirmation again on Sunday. God is consistent, persistent and steady.

God in Christ is available to you as a friend, forgiver, and savior every moment of every day from now to life everlasting. God’s love for you is unconditional and without end. As the waning seconds tick by in the next flash sale, remember what remains steady for you, for me and for this world – God’s love in Jesus Christ. Amen?!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,

Pr. Rachael

Leave a comment