Again and again…

Posted on Updated on

retainersWhen I was about 12, I got a retainer. I had a “crossbite” and my jaw needed to be realigned. I went from a permanently affixed retainer to one I took out when I ate. The first thing the orthodontist said was, “NEVER wrap your retainer in a napkin. You’ll forget about it and throw it away.”

I was a responsible kid. I never lost my mittens or my Trapper Keeper like some of my friends. One day my Grandma took me out for ice cream. Guess what happened? Yep. I wrapped that retainer in a napkin and promptly threw it away. A few hours later, my Grandma joined me in a thorough inspection of the dumpster behind the ice cream shop. After going through hundreds of sticky, putrid, balled-up napkins, I accepted defeat.

What comes next is something of a blur. I remember standing before my parents, heart racing, to tell them what I’d done. But the next thing I remember is my Mom hugging me. What?! A hug?! But I did the very thing I wasn’t supposed to do. I blew it!

Last week, in Genesis 3, we heard humanity blew it. God said, “Don’t eat from that tree,” and we ate. We disobeyed. We didn’t trust God. But what comes next is something of a blur. We’ll make it all the way to Genesis 15 this Sunday, and what comes in between is one promise after the next. God promises Noah a new beginning for the earth. God promises through Abram all the families of the earth will be blessed. What?!

Already, by Genesis 15, we see what God’s all about. NEW BEGINNINGS! And not just one more chance. We get new beginning after new beginning after new beginning….for all humanity. For me. For you. Amen?!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

