“Eat your veggies!”

Posted on Updated on

eat your veggiesI eat veggies because I have to. Every evening I eat a salad whether I want to or not. Given the choice, brussel sprouts, lima beans and zucchini would NEVER make it on my plate. Come on, have you ever heard someone say, “I have the best lima bean recipe!” or “I’m having one more serving of brussel sprouts because I deserve it!”?

When it comes to the smorgasbord of the Bible, the all-you-can-eat-enchilada-buffet of goodness in God’s Word, the book of Job just might be the lima beans. I know, Leviticus and Numbers are close competitors, but the 42 chapters about Job’s suffering are pretty hard to swallow. So, how would you feel if we did a six week study of Job in worship? Yep, that’s what we’re starting this Sunday. Who’s with me?! Can I get an “Amen?!” …No? It sounds dangerously close to six weeks of veggies, doesn’t it? Stay with me for just a few moments more before you decide to skip this salad bar altogether (alright, enough veggie talk).

I’m going out on a limb here to say we actually get to have a little fun with Job. Don’t get me wrong, Job’s absolutely not all fun and games. But as we experience Job 1 together this Sunday, we get to be God and faith myth-busters! We’ll take a look at one of the best “set-ups” in all of scripture and identify what the author of this book may have intended, not what’s been used to hurt and silence those who suffer. We’ll be challenged, no doubt, but we may just be liberated from some faith nonsense and be renewed in our relationship with God! Who’s with me?!

Now, if only I could be liberated from zucchini…

See you Sunday!

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

