Breathing Deeply

Posted on Updated on

exhalesI’m not a runner. I accepted long ago that exercise is necessary and running is insanity. If you’re a runner, more power to you. I’ll wave at you from my yoga class.

Part of my problem was that I never learned how to breathe properly. I heard runners talk about keeping their muscles “oxygenated” but I couldn’t figure out how to do that. I’d end up huffing and puffing a couple of miles in. After a few months of that, I decided God was trying to tell me something: stop running!

Living in the Spirit can feel like that.

This Sunday is Pentecost and the Holy Spirit is where it’s at! In Acts 2 we hear the Spirit, experienced as violent wind or rushing breath, is blowing mightily. The disciples are “blown away” by her power. Their breath is taken up by the Spirit to produce a multi-lingual chorus praising God! Can you imagine how breathless they were after that extraordinary Spirit-experience? How many of them wondered if they could handle another Holy Spirit outburst?

Have you ever felt the Holy Spirit called you out and left you breathless? Perhaps you dared to breathe out your testimony at a Bible study, or you were moved to exhale a prayer out loud for a loved one, or your first worship experience after a divorce left you gasping for air. Have you ever wondered if you could endure another Spirit outburst, or thought, maybe God’s telling me this Holy Spirit thing isn’t for me?

Brothers and sisters in Christ, take heart! Pentecost Sunday is the day to remember that the Holy Spirit moves exactly when and where she is needed. She’s the source of your strength, courage and hope! So go ahead, breathe deeply, and let God’s love fly!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

