Why can’t I get it right?

Posted on Updated on

Dcant get it righto you ever go through periods of time when you seem to get everything wrong? Of course I’m asking because I’m in one.

I want so much to get it right, to live every day with God’s love at work in me. I know God loves me, loves the world so much that God came in the flesh and poured out that love for us all. Yet, I still mess things up with great regularity. I excel at it.

In the midst of my hand-wringing over my can’t-get-it-rightness, I give thanks to God that if I have to go through this, at least it’s in Advent. If there was any “good” time to lament my own failings, Advent is probably the best. Advent reminds me that fulfillment has yet to come.

God in Christ ushers in a new kingdom where God’s love, grace, peace, mercy and forgiveness abound. We’re living in it, thanks be to God! But you don’t need me to tell you that the kingdom has yet to be fulfilled. What the world needs now is (still!) love. Peace is elusive. Forgiveness is not a mainstream concept. And I can’t seem to remember to love my neighbor.

God’s people feel something similar in our reading from Ezra (1:1-4; 3:1-4, 10-13) this Sunday. The people are given a restoration, but it’s not complete. Much more needs to be done. God’s people rejoice in what is and wait in hope for what has yet to be reconciled. Maybe they’re on to something. Maybe that’s Advent worship.

So for all those can’t-get-it-right-ers out there, join me this Sunday and rejoice in what God has done! We are loved! Then pray with me for all that is yet to be fulfilled. Christ’s comin’!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,

Leave a Reply

