All Saints “Day?”

Posted on

All Saints DayThis Sunday is the day we set aside to give thanks for Saints. It’s a wonderful, Spirit-filled, bittersweet, thanks-be-to-God kind of day. But today I was reminded: one day is not nearly enough.

First, the doorbell rang. I opened the door to a man who told me he needed help. He’d heard St. Tim’s offered food bags and asked if he might have one. We talked and I told him about COAST . He left to seek them out, food bags in hand. But before he did he looked me in the eye and said, “May God bless you.”

Then the phone rang. It was a detective with the APD going above and beyond to follow up on a domestic violence report. By God’s grace we have been able to help a number of people fleeing domestic violence through our partnership with COAST. One young woman I met was so overwhelmed by her welcome at St. Tim’s that she prayed for God’s blessings on the people here.

In a Holy Spirit moment, I recognized that these men and women – the man in need of food, the St. Tim’s folks who supplied food, the APD detective, the COAST team, the woman fleeing violence in her home – are ALL saints. The very Spirit of God is alive and at work in ALL OF THEM!

As we gather this Sunday, I invite you to give thanks for all the saints in your life – those who reveal God’s love to you. But I also invite you to recognize the many saints God places in your life daily. I miss them all too often. Will you?

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

