Powerless…Gratitude

Posted on Updated on

bible quoteIt’s Lent. It’s a season of the church year that can be pretty rough because it is a glaring reminder of just how powerless we are. This season especially I feel like the Apostle Paul when he says, “For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I do” (Romans 7:19). I fully intend at the beginning of each day to listen for God’s voice and do only what is pleasing to God. I can almost get out of bed holding on to that thought…almost. During Lent I hear God’s unwavering call to love. I want to. But the evil I do not want is what I do.

Now, this could place me (and you, too, if you’re feeling me on this) under a 40 day cloud of despair. You see, faced with our powerlessness we could fight! We could try to muster up more energy, strive to be more focused, berate ourselves at our failures and wallow in self-loathing for a while. That’s certainly one way to go. But…

What if, instead of fighting powerlessness we embraced it? What if we gave it the biggest, knock-you-down bear hug we could muster? That kind of throw-caution-to-the-wind behavior can only lead to one thing: Overwhelming Gratitude.

Yep, I’m always going to fall short of the daily love to which God calls me. I am powerless to be perfect. But God promises, always, to meet me in my powerless falling-short with the love I lack. As it turns out, powerlessness is a most beautiful gift because it points, so clearly, to the most powerful love of all…God in Christ. Christ’s love is enough. It’s enough for me, for you, for this whole creation. Thank you, Jesus! Amen?!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

