A Spiritual Migraine?

Posted on

headacheLast week our family took some time to hang out in the mountains outside Durango, CO. We hiked, swam, and ate too many s’mores. It was awesome. But when we first arrived it wasn’t so great.

I awoke the first night with a raging headache. I was disoriented and irritated. But then I realized that I hadn’t had enough water to drink. My body was letting me know in a not-so-subtle way that if I planned to hang out at this altitude I needed more water. In a way I was amazed (and still a little irritated) how clear and efficient my body was. I got the message, loud and clear.

It got me thinking…wouldn’t it be great if God was that clear with us when we went off the rails spiritually? Why can’t we just get a migraine when we haven’t been in prayer or in God’s word enough? Instead, we often have to read the signs of anger, fear, loneliness, sadness, and/or hopelessness. I guess that’s not so subtle either but, perhaps, easier to ignore.

Maybe you’re there – angry, afraid, lonely, sad or hopeless. If you are, don’t give up! It may be you’re enduring a Spiritual migraine where God is with you, calling you to prayer and to lingering in God’s Good News for you in Christ. Don’t ignore it! God’s love for you it too great, too perfect and too glorious to ignore! Amen?!

See you Sunday…

In Christ,
Pr. Rachael

One thought on “A Spiritual Migraine?

    Grace Bousek said:
    August 17, 2014 at 10:45 pm

    I was just thinking…you knew that you were dehydrated because you know how your body works. So, do we really know how our spirits work?

Leave a Reply

