A filthy bathroom, Hallelujah!

Posted on

rollpaperWhen we think of God’s gifts we often think of really good stuff like love, joy, peace and hope. However, I wonder if we can get a little narrow in our God vision…I know I can.

For the last couple of weeks St. Tim’s has been welcoming refugees aged 12-18 into our building for a summer learning experience. The kids are fantastic. They’re eager to learn and to offer a smile. They’re welcomed by outstanding teachers who are passionate about helping them make the very difficult transition to life in the United States. And, the first afternoon I went into the bathroom after they were finished with class I panicked. The sinks were dirty, the garbage was overflowing and there was enough sand on the floor to keep a preschooler happy for hours. How were we going to keep this clean?

But then I realized this dirty bathroom was a sign that life was filling the building – Holy Spirit life rooted in the ministry of hospitality and welcoming the stranger in Christ’s name. Hallelujah!

My hope for you this summer is that so many people are welcomed into your life and your hospitality in Christ that you’re overwhelmed for just a moment. Then, let it sink in, you’ve been a gift of God…hallelujah!

See you Sunday…

God’s Peace,
Pr. Rachael

 

2 thoughts on “A filthy bathroom, Hallelujah!

    Grace Bousek said:
    July 18, 2014 at 11:13 pm

    I have noticed that when I get busy I forget to pray during the day so I decided to pray in thanksgiving when ever I go to the bathroom. It is a good reminder, happens every few hours throughput the day.
    I haven’t shared that with anyone before today, Thanks, Pastor Rachel for your bathroom sharing!

    Ken Ranos said:
    July 23, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    One of my revelations as my congregation searches for a new custodian was that they expect the entire church building to take no more than 3 hours to thoroughly clean. That made me wonder–if it only takes 3 hours to clean two floors, including four restrooms… how little are we using the building? Except for me in the office every day, the church building is used three times a week: Sunday morning worship, quilting on Wednesdays for a couple hours, and Bible study on Thursdays for an hour. The building stays so clean because it is never used.

Leave a Reply

