It’s tough to sum up faith in a catch phrase.

Posted on

In a world of sound bites, catch phrases get attention. The arena of faith is no exception. “What would Jesus do?” “Got God?” “Jesus is my co-pilot!”God-Is-Love “Jesus isn’t my co-pilot, he’s behind the wheel!” You get the picture. But I was reminded of one this week that’s hard for me to swallow, “God helps those who help themselves.”* Why would I need God if I could help myself? If “God is love” (yep, I do believe that one) why would God sit idly by and watch me suffer just waiting for me to do something? Thanks be to God, Paul has something to say about this.

This Sunday we get to hear Romans 5:1-11. There’s grace upon grace in Romans 5 but the verse that soars for me is, “But God proves his love for us in that while we still were sinners Christ died for us” (5:8). God didn’t wait for us to do something, to get our act together, to help ourselves. God just loved us enough to die for us. For me. For you. Period.

See you Sunday…

In Christ,
Pr. Rachael

*See Sundays and Seasons Year A 2014 ©2013 Augsburg Fortress, p.139

One thought on “It’s tough to sum up faith in a catch phrase.

    Andrea said:
    March 21, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    I sure appreciate receiving these updates!

Leave a Reply

