Lent – Does it get any better than this?

Posted on Updated on

lentDon’t get me wrong, it’s rough out here in the wilderness. From here I see how much of a mess I’ve made things. I see how often I hurt myself and those I love. My knees get sore as I fall to them day after day asking God’s forgiveness for me and for this world that struggles mightily to love. Violence, poverty, addiction, isolation, despair – all forms of human brokenness take up residence here.

And yet here, in this great messiness, God comes.

God refuses to let the wilderness overtake us. God will not leave us to our own devices, thanks be to God. God reveals, on the cross, that God will stop at nothing to deliver us. From where I sit, alongside all of you beautiful, broken people in the wilderness, I see God racing toward us. “I love you!” God shouts, “You are mine! Return to me!”

See you Sunday…

Pr. Rachael

Leave a Reply

